Several international writers, poets, and book enthusiasts have confirmed their participation at the 2nd National Conference of Book Clubs in Nigeria which kicks off in Uyo next week from 15th – 18th September 2022.

The Conference which will hold at the Mandela Hall, Watbridge Hotel&Suites, 11 IBB Way, Uyo has as theme ‘African Stories: How They Fare in the Global Village’.

The Event which would be chaired by the 1981 First Class graduate and Valedictorian of the University of Calabar, Dr Emmanuel Abraham, Chairman of Topfaith Schools and University has attracted global and national attention.

Meanwhile, some of the well-known literary giants who have confirmed their participation at the Book Clubs panel discussion include Su Eddie Agema,  an outstanding Nigerian Poet and Culture Promoter, Sadiq Dzugogi, Poet, creative writer, teacher, and on the shortlist of the 2022 NLNG prize for literature for his work, “Your Crib, my Qibla’, Iquo Dianabasi, Akwa Ibom born but Lagos based creative writer who was on the Long list of the 2022 NLNG Poetry Prize, Ogaga Ifowodo, 1998 winner of PEN/ Barbara Goldsmith freedom to write award given to writers anywhere in the world who have fought courageously in the face of adversity for the right to freedom of expression, Nduka Otiono, Associate Professor of African Studies and English at Carleton University in Ottawa, Canada.

Others are Kate Ekanem Hannum, the first Nigerian competitively chosen to represent the African Union of the Global G(irl) 20 summit in Istanbul, Turkey and Curator at Inspire Community Network foundation (ICON), Prof. Joe Ushie, who would serve as the Moderator is a Professor of Stylistics, University of Uyo and 2022 NLNG long list, Ikhide Roland Ikheola, Chief of Staff to the Board of Montgomery County Public School in Rochsville, Maryland, USA.

Equally confirmed for ‘Uyo 2022’ include Prof Obot Etukudoh, Canada-based Unyimeabasi Odong, Itoro Ekpo from Manchester, United Kingdom.

Others are Emem Uko, Professor Patrick Ebewo of Topfaith University, Prof(Mrs) Felicia Etim of Federal University, Otuoeke, Professor Ahioma Ibegwam of the University of Uyo, Akwa Ibom based  Liberty Uboho Bassey, a writer and poet and of course our visionary Founder, Convener and progenitor of the Book Club movement, Dr Udeme Nana, Lawyer turned author and poet, Dr. Ekong Sampson, who heads the LOC, Dr. Martins Akpan, a well-known Doctor – Writer, and a host of other upcoming poets, writers and book enthusiasts.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *